- Rest breaks are at least 10 consecutive and uninterrupted minutes
A typical break in California should be at least 10 minutes. These rest periods must also be uninterrupted and not split into smaller breaks by the employer. The number of breaks an employee receives will depend on the number of hours worked. For practical reasons, it is preferable to offer rest breaks in the middle of the employee’s work period.
- Breaks must be paid
According to California break laws, fast breaks must be paid for by the company. However, this does not mean that an employer can interrupt an employee’s rest period just because he is being paid during this period.
- Meal breaks are unpaid
While rest breaks must be paid by state law, a meal break—which is typically a 30-minute break from work to eat, rest, and attend to other personal matters—remains unpaid. . A meal break is scheduled once the employee has worked at least five hours. If an employee has worked six hours or less, they can agree to waive meal breaks if they wish.
- The duration of the breaks varies according to the number of hours worked
As mentioned earlier, California employers are required to schedule breaks of at least 10 consecutive minutes. The number of breaks an employee can take depends on the length of their work period.
Under California law, a rest break of at least 10 minutes is provided to an employee after 3.5 hours of work, a second rest break is provided after six hours of work, and another rest break is provided. he worked for at least 10 hours. After 10 hours of work, the employee will continue to benefit from a rest break for every four additional hours of work.